Utah is a state that has implied consent laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) crimes. This means that when pulled over, it is assumed a driver will consent to a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. If they do not, they will still be charged with a DUI. The legal limit for BAC is .08 in Utah. If the drivers BAC is below .08, yet they still show signs of impairment, they will still be charged with a DUI. The legal BAC limit for drivers under the age of 21 is .02. There are increased penalties for drivers whose BAC is .16 or higher.
For a first time DUI offender in Utah, the law requires a 48 hour minimum jail sentence, or the completion of a 48 hour work service program. Home confinement is also a possibility. There is a $700 minimum fine, along with a 120 day license suspension. The Utah courts may also require other penalties, such as additional home confinement that monitors the offender through electronic devices. Other possibilities are alcohol and drug abuse assessment, and if deemed necessary, the subsequent treatment programs. The completion of a substance abuse education program may also be ordered by the court.
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in Utah
- In 2017, 5 out of the 53 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 143 out of the 7,980 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 7 out of the 61 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 92 out of the 7,119 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
|Beaver County||Box Elder County||Cache County||Carbon County|
|Daggett County||Davis County||Duchesne County||Emery County|
|Garfield County||Grand County||Iron County||Juab County|
|Kane County||Millard County||Morgan County||Piute County|
|Rich County||Salt Lake County||San Juan County||Sanpete County|
|Sevier County||Summit County||Tooele County||Uintah County|
|Utah County||Wasatch County||Washington County||Wayne County|