In 2007 in California, 203,866 people were arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). What does this mean? It is against the law for a person under the influence of any alcoholic beverage or drug, or both, to drive a vehicle. More specifically, the driver cannot have a blood-alcohol level of .08 or above. Drivers with a commercial license operating a commercial vehicle will be charged with a DUI if they drive with a BAC of .04 or higher. It is also illegal for anyone who is addicted to any drugs to operate a vehicle unless they are in a registered treatment program.
How long does a DUI stay on your record in California?
A violation of California DUI Law or DUI conviction remains on someone’s driving history for ten years!
First-time DUI offenders in California face a minimum jail term of 96 hours, but they may be placed in jail for up to 6 months. The driver will also have to pay a fine of $1,000 to $1,600, and their license will be suspended for 6 months. Other mandatory penalties include completing a driving under the influence education course and obtaining California SR22 insurance required for a restricted license. There is also the possibility that an ignition interlock device will be ordered installed in the driver’s vehicle.
If a California driver is charged with a second DUI, they must still apply for the insurance and attend the education program, but the other penalties are increased. The jail term is a minimum of 90 days, with a maximum of 1 year. The fine now ranges from $1,000 to $1,900. The driver’s license will now be suspended or revoked for 2 years.
In California, there is a point system.
The California DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles) uses a point system to assess driving history. Drivers begin with a clean driving record, but the number and type of convictions you get will decide how many points you get. You will receive two points for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI). Reckless driving, driving on the pavement, speeding, disobedience to traffic signals, disregarding traffic officer orders, and driving with an invalidated or suspended license are all offenses that will earn you points.
How to get a free California driving record
Your California driving record provides details about your traffic violations, such as DUI, the DMV Point System, and the status of your driver’s license, such as whether it has ever been revoked, suspended, or canceled, as well as whether you owe any license reinstatement fees. It also contains your details, such as your name, age, social security number, and address, compatible with your driver’s license.
It is straightforward to obtain a free driving record. A copy of your driving record can be obtained in person, by mail, or online. The fastest and more convenient way is to fill out a California DMV driver’s record request on the California state DMV website.
To order your driving record in person, go to your nearest DMV office, display your identification, and fill out form INF 1125, Request for Your Own Driver License Information Record. To order by mail, fill out a written request with your name, date of birth, social security number, California driver’s license number, and signature, then mail it. Your driving record can also be ordered electronically, but online driving records are not considered official.
Although driving records are considered public information in California, this does not mean that anyone can access another person’s driving record. To obtain another person’s driving record, you must submit a request for any record details using form type: INF 70 and follow the instructions carefully. The state charges a small fee to receive your driving record; the cost is $2 if you order online, $5 if you order by mail, and $5 if you order in person. Depending on how you order your driving record, the payment method varies. Visit California Driving Records for more information.
DUI / DWI facts and Statistics in California
- In 2017, 13 out of the 1,120 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 455 out of the 122,961 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 113 out of the 1,069 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 474 out of the 127,250 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov