In Maine, a driver operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more is guilty of driving under the influence (OUI). A driver under 21 years of age with any BAC of .02 or higher will lose their license for one year. Any driver that refuses to take the breath or blood test that the police officer offers will lose their license for a minimum of 18 months. If a driver over the age of 21 with a BAC of .08 or higher and has a passenger under the age of 21 in the car, their license will be suspended for an additional 180 days on top of the 90 days minimum.
A driver facing their first drunk driving conviction in Maine will have a minimum jail sentence of 30 days. They will also pay a $500 fine and have their license suspended for at least 90 days. A second OUI conviction means the driver’s license will be suspended for three years. A restricted license with a required ignition interlock device is possible after a 9-month suspension, depending on the court’s decision. The minimum jail term is increased to 6 months, and the fine will be $1,000 minimum.
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in Maine
- In 2017, 5 out of the 50 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 39 out of the 5,835 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 5 out of the 42 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 22 out of the 5,811 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
|Androscoggin County||Aroostook County||Cumberland County||Franklin County|
|Hancock County||Kennebec County||Knox County||Lincoln County|
|Oxford County||Penobscot County||Piscataquis County||Sagadahoc County|
|Somerset County||Waldo County||Washington County||York County|