In 2008, almost 12,000 people in the United States died in accidents where the driver had a blood-alcohol level (BAC) of .08 or higher. Several criteria can lead to a driver being charged with driving under the influence (DUI) crime in Alabama.
Like most states, having a BAC of .08 in Alabama will result in a DUI. However, just being under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substance will lead to a DUI if the officer believes that the driver is no longer capable of safely driving. It is also illegal for any person under the age of 21 to drive with a BAC of .02 or above.
The punishment for a DUI in Alabama depends on the number of prior DUI convictions the driver has. The first DUI conviction can result in up to one year of imprisonment in municipal or county jail, though there is no minimum mandatory sentence. The driver can also be fined $500 – $2,000, with an additional $100 fine deposited in the Impaired Drivers Trust Fund. There is also a mandatory 90-day suspension of the driver’s license and enforced DUI school attendance.
As the number of DUI convictions accrue, the punishments increase in severity. After the fourth DUI conviction, the driver faces a prison term of 1 to 10 years. The fine increases from a minimum of $4,000 to a maximum of $10,000. Finally, the driver’s license will be revoked for five years.
How to find out if I have a DUI record in Alabama
You can contact the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) concerning the Alabama Background Check program by calling this number 1-866-740-4762 or this number 334-353-4340. You can contact the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) concerning the Alabama Background Check program by calling this number 1-866-740-4762 or this number 334-353-4340.
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in Alabama
- In 2017, 27 out of the 268 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 42 out of the 7,194 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 18 out of the 246 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 26 out of the 6,391 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
DUI Search available in the following Counties:
|Autauga County||Baldwin County||Barbour County||Bibb County|
|Blount County||Bullock County||Butler County||Calhoun County|
|Chambers County||Cherokee County||Chilton County||Choctaw County|
|Clarke County||Clay County||Cleburne County||Coffee County|
|Colbert County||Conecuh County||Coosa County||Covington County|
|Crenshaw County||Cullman County||Dale County||Dallas County|
|DeKalb County||Elmore County||Escambia County||Etowah County|
|Fayette County||Franklin County||Geneva County||Greene County|
|Hale County||Henry County||Houston County||Jackson County|
|Jefferson County||Lamar County||Lauderdale County||Lawrence County|
|Lee County||Limestone County||Lowndes County||Macon County|
|Madison County||Marengo County||Marion County||Marshall County|
|Mobile County||Monroe County||Montgomery County||Morgan County|
|Perry County||Pickens County||Pike County||Randolph County|
|Russell County||St. Clair County||Shelby County||Sumter County|
|Talladega County||Tallapoosa County||Tuscaloosa County||Walker County|
|Washington County||Wilcox County||Winston County|