In 2009, an astounding 911 people died in car accidents. 42% of those deaths were caused by drivers driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. The DUI laws in Illinois are similar to other states. A DUI is legally determined by administering a blood or breath test to discover the driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If the driver has a BAC of .08 or above, they are charged with a DUI. If the driver has a BAC of .16, they are charged with an aggravated DUI, and the penalties are increased. A driver under the age of 21 has a legal BAC limit of .02.
A driver facing their first DUI conviction in Illinois faces a minimum of losing their driving privileges for 1 full year. They also face up to 1 year of prison time. The maximum fine is $2,000. If the conviction is for an aggravated DUI, the penalties are increased dramatically. Along with the normal one-year loss of driving privileges, the driver may have to spend up to 12 years in prison. Maximum fines can reach up to $25,000.
For a second DUI offense within 20 years in Illinois, the driver will lose their driving privileges for 5 years. There is a mandatory 5-day jail term, with a maximum of 1 year. If the minimum term is enforced, then there is a possibility that the court will allow 240 hours of community service to be completed instead. The maximum fine is $2,500.
How long does a DUI remain in Illinois on your record?
The state of Illinois treats DUIs very seriously, and DUI convictions have a zero-tolerance policy. This means that this offense will remain on the record indefinitely if you are accused of driving under the influence.
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in Illinois
- In 2017, 37 out of the 349 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI was driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 1 out of the 2,357 offenders caught for DUI / DWI was under the age of 18
- In 2018, 18 out of the 309 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 1 out of the 2,825 offenders caught for DUI / DWI was under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
|Adams County||Alexander County||Bond County||Boone County|
|Brown County||Bureau County||Calhoun County||Carroll County|
|Cass County||Champaign County||Christian County||Clark County|
|Clay County||Clinton County||Coles County||Cook County|
|Crawford County||Cumberland County||De Witt County||DeKalb County|
|Douglas County||DuPage County||Edgar County||Edwards County|
|Effingham County||Fayette County||Ford County||Franklin County|
|Fulton County||Gallatin County||Greene County||Grundy County|
|Hamilton County||Hancock County||Hardin County||Henderson County|
|Henry County||Iroquois County||Jackson County||Jasper County|
|Jefferson County||Jersey County||Jo Daviess County||Johnson County|
|Kane County||Kankakee County||Kendall County||Knox County|
|Lake County||LaSalle County||Lawrence County||Lee County|
|Livingston County||Logan County||Macon County||Macoupin County|
|Madison County||Marion County||Marshall County||Mason County|
|Massac County||McDonough County||McHenry County||McLean County|
|Menard County||Mercer County||Monroe County||Montgomery County|
|Morgan County||Moultrie County||Ogle County||Peoria County|
|Perry County||Piatt County||Pike County||Pope County|
|Pulaski County||Putnam County||Randolph County||Richland County|
|Rock Island County||Saline County||Sangamon County||Schuyler County|
|Scott County||Shelby County||St. Clair County||Stark County|
|Stephenson County||Tazewell County||Union County||Vermilion County|
|Wabash County||Warren County||Washington County||Wayne County|
|White County||Whiteside County||Will County||Williamson County|
|Winnebago County||Woodford County|