It is illegal in Ohio to operate a vehicle while under the influence (OVI). A driver can face this charge if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher, regardless of whether or not there is evidence that their ability to drive is impaired. Likewise, if there is evidence that they cannot control the vehicle, they will be charged with an OVI even if their BAC falls below .08. It is also illegal under Ohio law for drivers under the age of 21 to drive a vehicle if their BAC is .02 or higher. The underage charge is called operating a vehicle after underage alcohol consumption (OVUAC).
When a driver is convicted of their first OVI in Ohio, they face a 3-day minimum jail sentence, up to a possible maximum of 6 months. There is a chance the court will allow them to complete a 3-day driver intervention program instead of going to jail. The driver will also have to pay a fine of $250 to $1,000. Their driver’s license will also be suspended for a period of 6 months to 3 years. When it is reinstated, they will have to pay a fee of $450. If a driver’s BAC is .17 or above, the jail term has a mandatory minimum of 6 days, to a maximum of 3 years.
Ohio OVI checkpoints
At least 5 days a week in the state of Ohio, the police set up a checkpoint, Searching for drunken drivers or other infractions. Millions Of dollars are spent on police human resources; dozens of drivers have been slow down or stopped for questioning. Hundreds of records are issued, mostly for suspended licenses.
While some officers earn around $50 an hour working in a checkpoint, critics continue to complain that the practice – although upheld by the U.S. Supreme Court – is a Constitutional violation.
Law Enforcement officials insist the OVI checkpoints aren’t meant to pad arrest totals. Instead, they are designed to alert people of drunken driving dangers.
Drivers stopped in a recent checkpoint at Tallmadge said they Were not bothered by what they think is only a minor annoyance.
Police are required to inform the OVI checkpoints locations and set up indications to alert motorists. OVI Checkpoints are necessary to Permit roads for drivers to prevent The line, though police frequently also deploy “blitzes” around checkpoints to Start looking for suspected drunken drivers who avoid the checkpoints.
How to report a DUI in Ohio
If you are noticing a driver that is driving under the influence, you can call this hotline number immediately: 1-800-GRAB-DUI.
You also have other immediate options:
- The first option is to call the general number of the police: 911
- Ohio Police OHP number: 800-525-5555
- Ohio patrol: 800-877-7PATROL
- Another option is this number to report erratic driving: 800-4722-384
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in Ohio
- In 2017, 25 out of the 333 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 64 out of the 15,032 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 24 out of the 294 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 61 out of the 13,723 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
|Adams County||Allen County||Ashland County||Ashtabula County|
|Athens County||Auglaize County||Belmont County||Brown County|
|Butler County||Carroll County||Champaign County||Clark County|
|Clermont County||Clinton County||Columbiana County||Coshocton County|
|Crawford County||Cuyahoga County||Darke County||Defiance County|
|Delaware County||Erie County||Fairfield County||Fayette County|
|Franklin County||Fulton County||Gallia County||Geauga County|
|Greene County||Guernsey County||Hamilton County||Hancock County|
|Hardin County||Harrison County||Henry County||Highland County|
|Hocking County||Holmes County||Huron County||Jackson County|
|Jefferson County||Knox County||Lake County||Lawrence County|
|Licking County||Logan County||Lorain County||Lucas County|
|Madison County||Mahoning County||Marion County||Medina County|
|Meigs County||Mercer County||Miami County||Monroe County|
|Montgomery County||Morgan County||Morrow County||Muskingum County|
|Noble County||Ottawa County||Paulding County||Perry County|
|Pickaway County||Pike County||Portage County||Preble County|
|Putnam County||Richland County||Ross County||Sandusky County|
|Scioto County||Seneca County||Shelby County||Stark County|
|Summit County||Trumbull County||Tuscarawas County||Union County|
|Van Wert County||Vinton County||Warren County||Washington County|
|Wayne County||Williams County||Wood County||Wyandot County|