In New Jersey, it is illegal for a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher to operate a vehicle. If they do, it is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI). If their BAC is .10 or higher, the DUI is changed to an aggravated DUI, and the penalties are enhanced. New Jersey also has a zero-tolerance policy regarding drivers under the age of 21. They have a BAC limit of .02. Drivers in New Jersey who refuse the breath or drug test determining BAC will be arrested as though they were above the legal BAC limit.
A driver’s first DUI offense in New Jersey earns them up to 30 days in prison. They will also be fined from $250 to $400, and their license will be suspended for three months. If the charge is an aggravated DUI, then the fine is raised to $300 to $500, and the license suspension lasts from 7 months to 1 year. Also, there are miscellaneous fees that add up to a minimum of $525, and the driver has to pay a $1,000 insurance surcharge for three years. New Jersey courts may also order offending drivers to use an ignition interlock device and attend intoxicated driver resource classes.
How to find out if I have a DUI record in new jersey
Any inquiries regarding the state of New Jersey DUI Record Check Process or any Criminals record, including active arrest warrants, can be directed to the New Jersey State Police Criminal Information Unit at 609 882-2000 phone ext. 2918
How to report DUI in New Jersey
When you spot a drunk driver, you should call #77. The #77 Dangerous Driver System ought to be used to report erratic or aggressive driving. You can additionally call this number to report a DUI (drunk drivers) in progress. That poses a risk to other drivers on the roadway. When these calls are significant, 911 calls are prioritized over #77 calls as required by legislation. In #77 call response, police services are made conscious of the report and react according to accessibility and proximity to the episode and the report’s seriousness. This system shouldn’t be used to report 911 emergencies.
DUI / DWI facts and statistics in New Jersey
- In 2017, 8 out of the 125 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 76 out of the 21,574 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
- In 2018, 13 out of the 125 driving fatalities due to DUI / DWI were driven by drivers under the age of 21
- In the same year, 42 out of the 17,230 offenders caught for DUI / DWI were under the age of 18
source: responsibility.org, fbi.gov
|Atlantic County||Bergen County||Burlington County||Camden County|
|Cape May County||Cumberland County||Essex County||Gloucester County|
|Hudson County||Hunterdon County||Mercer County||Middlesex County|
|Monmouth County||Morris County||Ocean County||Passaic County|
|Salem County||Somerset County||Sussex County||Union County|